Architect W.D. Caroe sought to combine the charm and elegance of his former college (Trinity College, Cambridge) with the picturesque balance of many of the University of Oxford colleges. Building work on the Main Building commenced in 1905 and was completed in many stages, the first in 1909. Money ran short for this project, however, and although the side-wings were completed in the 1960s the planned Great Hall has never been built.
Level access into the Main Building is from Park Place.
Access from Museum Place is via steps. The central and main entrance on the right have shallow ramps and automatic doors.
There is level access through the main entrance on the left with automatic and motorised doors.
The lift is situated in the south wing (entrance to the left), through the first set of double doors on the right. The lift services all floors and half floors; the lower basement (-2), basement (-1), ground (0), first half level (1), first floor (2).
Some people might require assistance to operate the lift as it has two fairly heavy doors that need to be opened and closed manually. Please visit or telephone reception on +44 (0)29 2068 8536 if you need to arrange assistance.
The refectory is located on the ground floor. From the accessible Park Place entrance, follow the corridor to the right and the refectory is on the right.
The accessible unisex toilet is situated on the ground floor, in the South Wing (room number 0.35).
The Main Building car park is accessed from Park Place and open every day from 06:00 to 22.30.
Parking is very limited and there are 5 designated accessible parking bays. Visitors can reserve a parking space in advance by telephoning reception on +44 (0)29 2087 9092 with the following details: car registration number, date and purpose of visit.
There is public street parking along Park Place and Museum Avenue, where blue badge holders can park free of charge.
There are 116 bicycle parking spaces at this location.